铁路安全月!

九月是铁路安全月

在此期间,Amtrak San Joaquins与加州生命保护行动(CAOL)合作,旨在提高人们对铁轨周围危险的行人和司机行为的认识。 

"加州救生行动致力于在加州各地提供铁路安全教育,以改变铁路轨道附近的危险行为。在非法入侵和越轨的死亡人数中排名第一,这一统计数字强调了对公众进行铁路安全教育的迫切性,"说。 Nancy Sheehan,CAOL执行主任。

我们知道,在2020年,鉴于COVID-19的大流行,"安全"这个词有了新的意义。下面,我们将分享一些铁路安全提示,以及美国铁路公司如何在旅途中保障您的安全的信息。 

铁路安全事实

  • 即使在紧急刹车的情况下,一列典型的货运列车也要花一英里以上的时间才能停下来。这相当于18个足球场的距离!
  • 在距离铁轨15英尺以上的地方停车是不安全的。一列火车至少比两侧的铁轨宽三英尺。
  • 在所有与铁路有关的死亡事件中,95%都涉及到司机试图打火车,或者人们擅闯铁轨。
  • 铁轨是私人财产,在铁轨上行走是非法入侵。这是非法的,也是危险的;你有可能被开罚单,被罚款,严重的还会受伤或死亡。

铁路安全提示

  • 绝不在降低的闸门附近行驶--这是非法的,也是致命的。如果您的车辆在铁轨上熄火,请下车并远离铁轨,即使您没有看到火车。找到紧急通知系统(ENS)的标志,并拨打提供的电话,告诉他们车辆熄火的情况。如果有火车驶来,应向火车方向跑去,但要远离铁轨,与火车成45度角。如果你朝火车行驶的方向跑,你可能会被飞来的碎片砸伤。
  • 总是要等火车! 货运列车不按照固定的时间表行驶。
  • 在紧急情况下 在铁路交叉口找到蓝色的ENS标志,并拨打电话。

参与进来

COVID-19 安全

Amtrak San Joaquins公司的首要任务是我们员工和乘客的健康和安全。自COVID-19疫情爆发以来,Amtrak San Joaquins一直遵循CDC以及州和地方公共卫生官员的建议,实施各项措施,以确保员工和公众的健康和安全。这些措施包括:

  • 要求所有工作人员、旅客和游客在车站、月台、火车和高速公路公共汽车上必须保持社会距离并戴上口罩;
  • 每天多次对所有高接触表面进行消毒站消毒
  • 在车站和火车上张贴有关社会距离和其他相关健康告示的标志;
  • 禁止现金交易,以限制乘客与雇员之间的物品交换,反之亦然;
  • 在机上为乘客提供洗手液
  • 用医用级消毒剂对列车所有座位和表面进行消毒。

有关Amtrak San Joaquins如何在COVID-19期间保障员工、旅客和游客安全的更多信息,请访问以下网站。 amtraksanjoaquins.com/covid-19。.

滚动到顶部

Rail Safety Month!

September is Rail Safety Month!

During this time, Amtrak San Joaquins, in partnership with California Operation LifeSaver (CAOL), aims to raise awareness about risky pedestrian and driver behavior around railroad tracks. 

“California Operation Lifesaver is committed to providing Rail Safety Education across California to change dangerous behaviors near railroad tracks. Ranking number one in fatalities in both trespass and grade crossing, this statistic emphasizes the critical need to educate the public about rail safety,” said Nancy Sheehan, CAOL Executive Director.

We know in 2020 the word “safety” has taken on new significance in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. Below, we’ll share a few railroad safety tips, as well as information on how Amtrak is keeping you safe during your journey. 

Railroad Safety Facts

  • Even when emergency brakes are applied, a typical freight train can take more than a mile to stop. That’s the distance of 18 football fields!
  • It’s never safe to stop closer than 15 feet from rails. A train is at least three feet wider than the tracks on both sides.
  • 95 percent of all rail-related deaths involve drivers trying to beat a train, or people trespassing on railroad tracks.
  • Railroad tracks are private property, and walking on them is trespassing. This is illegal and dangerous; you risk being ticketed and fined, and seriously injured or killed.

Railroad Safety Tips

  • NEVER drive around lowered gates—it’s illegal and deadly. If your vehicle stalls on the tracks, get out and get away from the tracks, even if you do not see a train. Locate the Emergency Notification System (ENS) sign and call the number provided, telling them about the stalled vehicle. If a train is approaching, run toward the train but away from the tracks at a 45 degree angle. If you run in the same direction a train is traveling, you could be injured by flying debris.
  • ALWAYS EXPECT A TRAIN! Freight trains do not follow set schedules.
  • IN CASE OF EMERGENCY locate the blue ENS sign at the rail crossings and call the number

Get Involved

  • We urge you to share rail safety messages with five of your family members and friends; ask those five to tell five more to keep the message growing. Join the campaign to raise awareness; #SaveLivesTell5!
  • Every Friday in September, you can raise awareness by wearing red, taking your photo, and sharing and tagging @caoplifesaver or sending to caol@caol.us for CAOL to share on social media. Use the hashtags #RedOut4RailSafety #SaveLivesTell5

COVID-19 Safety

Amtrak San Joaquins’ top priority is the health and safety of our employees and passengers. Since the COVID-19 outbreak began, Amtrak San Joaquins has followed recommendations from the CDC and state and local public health officials when implementing measures to ensure the health and safety of our employees and the public. These include:

  • Requiring social distancing and face masks for all staff, travelers and visitors inside stations, on platforms, and aboard the trains and Thruway buses
  • Disinfecting stations multiple times a day on all high touch surfaces
  • Posting signage about social distancing and other related health notices throughout stations and trains
  • Prohibiting cash transactions in order to limit the exchange of items from passengers to employees and vice versa
  • Providing hand sanitizer onboard for passengers
  • Disinfecting trains with medical grade disinfectant on all seats and surfaces

For more information on how Amtrak San Joaquins is keeping staff, travelers and visitors safe during COVID-19, visit amtraksanjoaquins.com/covid-19.

Scroll to Top